//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

"A Man Convinced against his will……."


I first came in contact with the phrase, “A man convinced against his will is of the same opinion still,” while reading a book from the late Napoleon Hill. What a time to be alive! He also was close friends with another legend, Dale Carnegie. Napoleon wrote “Think and Grow Rich,” and Dale authored, “How to Win Friends and Influence People.”

To this day, they remain my two most favorite books because of the impact the life lessons have taught me and millions of others. Today, I want to deal with just the above phrase in the title of today’s digest and how it can be applied.

Convince is a powerful word isn’t it? It’s used in many different ways and is deeply embedded in our belief system. We either convince ourselves or someone else is able to convince us to do something.

Before I learned the professional process known as selling, I relied heavily on my ability to debate and yes, convince my prospect to agree with me…You see I thought all I needed for the sale was an agreement…It never occurred that it had to be voluntary on the part of the prospect. I thought that “convincing” my prospect to agree with my evidence meant I had “made” the sale.

You can imagine my shock when I first heard that statement. What I had been doing all along was convincing them against their will and thinking they had “come over to my way of thinking.” In reality, until I understood what that phrase meant, I was perplexed why my sales did not stay closed.

They were just happy to see me leave…What a huge disservice I did….yet I learned so much more..

It is my hope that if you have not heard the wisdom of this little pearl, you’ll stop and decide to evaluate your future opportunities and make sure the convincing that takes place is voluntary and not against anyone’s will….Because if it is…As soon as your back is turned…they will revert back to the original opinion still.

About Bob Innes

Who am I and what I do best! I am a skilled Sales and Marketing team player known for performing behind the scenes miracles that increase base distribution, improve customer relationship management, exceed annual sales volume,and profitability for Consumer Packaged Goods companies. And I've been doing it for over 15 years. My successful contributions include such clients as Kraft Foods, Mars, Bumble Bee Foods, Unilever, Johnson and Johnson and SC Johnson, and JM Smuckers.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

